The largest of Milne Bay's four main island clusters, D'Entrecausteaux boasts volcanically active islands, superb geothermal fields, and remnants of the WWII Allied Battle of New Guinea.

The D'Entrecausteaux Islands is home to five main islands - Normanby (Duau) Island, Fergusson (Morima) Island, Goodenough (Nidula) Island, Sanaroa (Welle) Island, and Dobu Island.

The island cluster was named after French Explorer Antoine Bruni d'Entrecasteaux who passed through in 1792. D'Entrecausteaux is home to a variety of diverse species inhabiting some of the world's most beautiful and untouched natural settings and habitats.


Photo Credit: David Kirkland - PNG Tourism Promotion Authority

Normanby Island

Normanby Island is a volcanic 1,000-square-kilometre (390 sq mi), L-shaped island, the southernmost island in the D'Entrecasteaux Islands group. In 1873, the island was visited by British Captain John Moresby, commanding HMS Basilisk, who named it after the Marquess of NormanbyGeorge Augustus Constantine Phipps, a governor of QueenslandAustralia.


Photo Credit: South Pacific Tourism Organisation

Fergusson Island

Fergusson Island is the largest island of the D'Entrecasteaux Islands. It has an area of just over 500 square miles (1,437 km2), and mostly consists of mountainous regions, covered by rain forests. There are three large volcanoes on the island. The island was named by Captain John Moresby after Sir James Fergusson, who was Governor-General of New Zealand from 1873 to 1874.

On June 30, 1942, during World War II, a United States Navy PT-Boat base was established on the island. An Alamo Scouts Training Center was established at Kalo Kalo on November 28, 1943.


Photo Credit: Museum Victoria

Goodenough Island

Goodenough Island in the Solomon Sea, also known as Nidula Island, is the westernmost of the three large islands of the D'Entrecasteaux Islands.